This Independent Woman’s Anthem

 

I make the money,

And bring home the check.

I write out the bills,

And make due with what’s left.

 

I pick out the clothes

Purchase them

Prepare them

And put them on,

My little one and I.

I am an independent woman.

 

I cut the grass,

Wash the car,

Clean the clothes,

And my little one.

I am an independent woman.

 

I do it all, and have for some time,

I do it without a complaint or a whine.

I do it because, it has to be done,

I do it come rain, sleet or sun.

 

I am an independent woman,

I depend on me.

But oh to have someone else to depend on

Oh wouldn’t that be sweet?

 

I’ve proven that I can do,

That whole independent thing.

Taken care of myself, my son, my parents,

and occasionally my friends.

 

Independence is good,

It’s something that we all need.

But oh to have someone else to depend on

Oh wouldn’t that be sweet?

 

I long for the day that I

Don’t write out the bills,

Don’t wash the car,

Don’t cut the grass

Don’t do it all, alone

I long for the day that I have someone to lighten the load,

Someone I can depend on.

 

Now don’t get me wrong,

My Lord, I know He’s always there.

And He has seem me through,

So I don’t despair

And it’s because of Him that I know one day,

Someone will come to take my Independence away.

 

And I’ll look into his eyes,

And smile warmly in his face,

And I’ll know, that I am,

Safe in his warm embrace.

Cause he’ll be the man,

That God created for me.

The one I can depend on,

Now isn’t that just sweet?

 

